Changing plans

As stated in a previous post, one of the beautiful things when you’re traveling alone, is that you can change your plans as you wish, assuming that you have one, not needing to take anybody else’s desires into consideration. It might sound selfish. But it does give you an incredible liberty. My very first idea was to go from Buenos Aires to Iguazú, through Rosario and Córdoba and then to Brazil. Then I scrapped Brazil from my route because of the World Cup, intending to go from Iguazú directly to Colombia. But now that I had gone so far down South, instead of taking a bus up North again, I settled for a 15 hours ride to the East, towards Bariloche.

Mathilde had told me about the Patagonic train, and it sounded like an incredible experience. But when we called, the mornig of the same day we were planning to get on the train, to make the reservation, we heard we would have needed to book 20 days in advance. It seems that, sometimes, having a plan and stick to it also has its advantages. It was quite a disappointment but we had no choice. Bus it was going to be.

I managed to have quite a busy social life in Puerto Madryn, so I needed to take my leave from everyone. Especially from Romi, who had invited me to the Argentina-Belgium asado as well as to a dinner at her place. That’s another thing I am learning to do on this trip: taking leave of all the beautiful people I meet, which has always been a difficult thing for me to do. But as, more than ever, the world is a village, I know now that there might be a possibility to meet again.

And then Lucas of course, whose hospitality I had been abusing. Barbara was gone already, Eva from Catalonia came in her place, and would follow us to Bariloche on the next day. Mathilde was with me on the bus. Romi was about to take off to Peru. Locals, travelers, people that are originally from one place but go and live in another. We all have our stories, our reasons to be in a certain place at a certain time. We meet. We share. And then separate again, following our own path, spiritually richer than we were before. A new generation of nomads.

 

“Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.”
― Allen Saunders

Leave a Reply

