Huayra Sanipy… whatever that means

With my next stop, Cafayate, I was back to more warmth… and the vineyards. But seeing how it had affected my memory in Mendoza, I decided not to go for the wine tasting at the bodega’s which is otherwise something very typical to do in this region too.

There I stayed in a very nice little hostel, called Huayra Sanipy, which would happen to be the starting point of many beautiful encounters. And re-encounters.

After having done the check-in, I decided to go and have lunch in the garden, where other guests were also enjoying the sun.

“Vos querés mate?” I just love this introduction line. It generally means you’re about to have a nice chat. And so I had with Juan Manuel, a history teacher who is also passionate about traveling. Just like me, he travels with camera and laptop and tells about his discoveries on his blog. For the Spanish speaking readers among you, here’s the link: http://rumbeandoporahi.blogspot.com/. He and his Colombian girlfriend Lina are planning to go on a world trip in 2015. So, who knows? Maybe they’ll meet you on their way. If so, be sure to welcome them.

While we were sitting there talking about our projects, another little group formed in the garden to share another passion: music. Nice people, a guitar, a few singers, sun and mate. I could have stayed there forever. But I couldn’t. I had an excursion booked at 14.00.

A mini-van took us to the Quebrada de la Concha, where we were able to enjoy more impressive views… and I got acquainted with the Devil’s throat #2.

Some hostels seem to have that wonderful power to bring all the people that stay in it together. The Huayra Sanipy is one of those places and, in the evening, I got to discover more great people, have more interesting chats,… and then, suddenly, probably helped by a few wine glasses, people started to dance… and then left to a peña, a bar where local groups come to sing folkloric music. But not me. I got caught in a discussion about photography and then went to bed. I didn’t know it then but I would get the chance to extensively discover what a peña was later on.

Leave a Reply

